Curriculum Structure

​ At Our Lady of the Rosary School, our curriculum is established according to the Australian Curriculum by ACARA and the Religious Education Curriculum, as prescribed by the Archdiocese of Brisbane.

When planning, teachers look to the Australian Curriculum and plan how best to facilitate learning opportunities for our students.  The Australian Curriculum has three dimensions: the core knowledge, understanding, skills set out in subjects, general capabilities and cross-curricula priorities.
The learning areas taught at Our Lady of the Rosary are:
Religous Education
Humanities and Social Sciences (including History, Geography, Civics & Citizenship, and Economics & Business)
The Arts
Health & Physical Education
Languages (Japanese)

Teachers plan in year level teams and are supported by the Assistant Principal (Religious Education), Primary Learning Leader (PLL) Support Teacher (Inclusive Education), Teacher Librarian and Guidance Counsellor in catering for the diverse needs of students in each class. Teachers plan short, responsive cycles, based on student data.
Specialist teachers facilitate learning in all year levels (from Prep – Year 6)
Health & Physical Education  - specifically swimming, athletics, ball skills, team games and the movement aspects of the HPE curriculum.
The Arts - specifically Music and Dance.
Languages - specifically Japanese.
Through the Religious life of the school, our shared values and beliefs permeate the school culture in a similar way to the other cross-curricular priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Sustainability and Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia.